Chassell Township Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

Dated: December 7, 2017 Chassell Fire Hall

Planning Commission Officers Present

Darlene Gronevelt Keith Meyers Dale Peterson Brian Waters
Ericka Malone Dan Palosaari Steve Spahn Doug Hamar

Guests and Residents of Chassell Township

Lynn Gierke

Meeting called to order at 6:08 p.m.

- 1) Pledge of Allegiance
- 2) Welcomed Planning Commission Officers, Chassell Township Residents
- 3) Approval of the Agenda: motion by Brian Waters, 2nd Steve Spahn. Ayes all.
- 4) Approval of the November 2, 2017 Minutes: motion by Steve Spahn, 2nd Brian Waters. Ayes all.
- 5) Public Comments: none
- 6) **Abandoned/Dangerous Building Committee:** Mercantile fined every 2 weeks turn over to collections at this point.
- 7) Park/Recreation Committee
- 8) Old Business
 - **a.** Chassell Township Logo suggesting submission from Chassell High School art department, MTU, and Elite Sign Company
 - **b.** Risk Reduction Grant/Boat Launch Lynn Gierke reported grant submitted for a maximum award of \$5,000. Replace and extend the launch walk another 10 feet and replace board walk.
 - c. Portage/Chassell Township Trail Authority Partner with trail authority was suggested
 - d. Redevelopment Ready Community Training Zoning first best step
 - **e.** Planning Commission Annual Report Brian Waters taking the lead asking for input from members of the planning commission.
 - f. Recreation Plan Update UP Engineers to assist as they did the original Plan

9) New Business

- a. 2018 -2023 Recreation Plan Public Hearing
- **b.** Blight Ordinance
- **c.** Road Improvement Committee be established– Houghton County Road Commission meets the 3rd Monday of the Month at 1:30 in the new Houghton County Building in Hancock/Ripley
- d. Planning Commission Mission Statement
- e. Rail Bridge Address with DNR

Next meeting date – January 4, 2017

Brian Waters made a motion to close the meeting at 7:10 p.m. support Doug Hamar

Brian Waters

Darlene Gronevelt

Chassell Township Planning Commission Chair

Chassell Township Planning Commission Secretary